The Town Administrator, appointed by the Selectboard, serves as the chief administrative officer of the town, overseeing all employees. The Administrator prepares and monitors the annual budget and Capital Plan for the Selectboard; provides grant and loan administration; prepares Articles of Warning, town policies, and ordinances; and handles road issues, risk management, procurement, personnel matters, and system administration.

The Zoning Administrator, recommended by the Planning Commission and appointed by the Selectboard, issues zoning permits, provides support for the Planning Commission & Development Review Board, and enforces the zoning bylaws. The ZA is the E911 Coordinator. The ZA also acts as the town sewage officer, working as a liaison with the State Water & Wastewater Program that issues permits for wells and onsite wastewater treatment.

The Town Administrator is also appointed as the town’s collector of delinquent taxes and a road commissioner (Selectboard Chair Seth Gardner is also a road commissioner).

Bruce Johnson, Town & Zoning Administrator
(802) 223-3313 x 204
Hours: M – F 9:00 a.m. – 5 p.m.


The Municipal Assistant serves as the assistant to the Town Administrator and provides support to Selectboard, Town Clerk, Town Treasurer, and Listers with the daily operations of the town. The Municipal Assistant is appointed by the Selectboard as the town’s assistant town clerk and assistant town treasurer.

Denise Sparrow
(802) 223-3313 x 202
Hours: M – Th 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.; F 9 a.m. – Noon